Florida Concealed Weapons Permit Reciprocity – Updated

Florida is one of the many states that offers reciprocity for people with Concealed Weapons Permits (CWP) from other states.

Florida does require that for a concealed carry permit to be valid in Florida it must have been issued to a resident of the state where it was issued.  There only a few states that have this requirement that the permit be issued to a resident of the state.  They are Colorado, South Carolina, Michigan, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, and Maine.

A Florida Concealed weapons permit is valid in the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Nebraska, New Mexico,  North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah,  Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming  (to be valid in the bold state’s you must be a Florida resident)

A Florida Concealed weapons permit is NOT valid in the following states:

California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois,, Maine, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, American Samoa, Guam, N. Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

For the most up to date information, an individual should check the Attorney General’s website. Follow the following links for a map of US reciprocity agreements, a Map of Florida Reciprocity agreements.

If you have a Florida concealed carry permit, you might want to create a Florida vehicle trust to protect the ability for police in other states to scan your license plate and determine if you have the permit.


Updated 11/16/16

Contact Information